Held

 

A soft howl, the wind in an ache

Drops of cloudburst speak to the ground

The bluster of night, welcomed on my skin

Window wide, elements allowed entry

They cleanse my soul with muted whispers

Words lay heavy against the door

In a bound weight, they hold it steady

Pale oak strains in the quiet

Creaking with intent, pushed and pulled

A contradiction in an irony

A choice to be held here

In a defenestration of thoughts

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paul McGovern
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 13:48:05

    Elemental contemplation, a reality of reflection in both sound and vision. Sensual throughout, the “toing and froing” of thought.

    “A soft howl, the wind in an ache
    Drops of cloudburst speak to the ground
    The bluster of night, welcomed on my skin”

    I love the auditory nature of these lines, the second in particular is wonderful.

    “Window wide, elements allowed entry
    They cleanse my soul with muted whispers
    Words lay heavy against the door”

    The opening and closing of thought perhaps, window wide and heavy door. The reception of elements, the distraction of nature.

    “A contradiction in an irony
    A choice to be held here
    In a defenestration of thoughts”

    I adore the last line, one of my favourite words 🙂

    Beautiful, contemplative, so wonderfully you.

    Reply

  2. andthedawn
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 20:13:36

    I always feel like the Dunce of the class when I follow a review by the Teacher. 😉

    I adore the rhythm and cadence of this piece. It pushes and pulls the senses in different directions. The visuals are without fault.

    I adore it. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

