Clarity

Lightening indigo courses through swollen veins

Releasing with it ruby velvet notions

I sit and feast in an amber glow of my making

Relinquishing all that binds me

Flexing fingers, touching the air

A long, ethereal sigh escapes from crimson depths

Words tumble and scatter at my feet

And here I sit, chin to knees

I lay my eyes on a mirror of metaphors

An aftermath in dusk, bathed in uncertainty

But a dim light flutters and my soul feels its presence

An upward curve, I trace my lips

Calm descends

The door once closed, now ajar

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andthedawn
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 21:01:17

    Such sumptuous words. I adore the rhythms flowing through this and especially like the added layer of colours throughout which really heightens my awareness of the visuals created. I am rubbish at reviewing so sorry if that made no sense. I loved it. x

    Reply

  2. Paul McGovern
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 21:35:26

    A poem which is wrought in colour, a tonal discussion which is probably very personal to the writer or theme. All of the lines are splendid but some stand out for me:

    “Lightening indigo courses through swollen veins”

    Love the imagery of life force & blood rushing in this.

    “Words tumble and scatter at my feet”

    Words as tangible, physical entities – very powerful.

    A really lovely poem ends with optimism and hope.

    Reply

  3. expatinCAT
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 14:42:26

    The poignancy of that last word ‘ajar’…wonderfully written, Clare. // Peter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

