A Tranquil Pound

A heart

It bleeds ruby tears

 But still it beats

Faintly beckons

Embraced by a violet soul

Illuminating skin that shields

Persistent with its chorus

A song for what it craves

Never failing

Always waiting

An anchored thrum

Rooted to the core

A scarlet rush

Veins ignite

Washing away the purple hue

Replaced with loaded crimson

It knows only what it needs

And so it beats

It makes this tranquil pound

Holding out

Unceasing, relentless

For all it seeks

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Paul McGovern
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 14:48:19

    I’ve been thinking about how to respond to this for a couple of days now, I’ve revisited it many times. Every time I read it, I lose the ability to comment because it says so much. I love reading what you write so much.

    The longing in this… I don’t know how you do it, but it sinks it’s teeth into me, everything ever desired swells up inside me. It actually makes me want to have a smoke just to feed a craving. The waiting of want, the sense of belonging sought, the gentle whispers of the soul… all of these things.

    A heart pulsating love, an echo, a sonar blip spiraling outward. A steady drum, the euphoria of emotion, relentless – the language is so uniquely you, something I adore always.

    I love the structure, the way you break down the elements, the arrangement of colour, the underlying theme of the tranquil pound, what a beautiful, wonderful, amazing term…

    The writing of a winged one. Stunning and fulfilling even in it’s exploration of the unfulfilled. Perfect duality. Perfect poetry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

