The Night That Holds Her

Floating downstream

She sits, cocooned in a butterscotch pail

Toes dip the cool

Fingers trace the light on the water

Cast by the moon and its company above

Head lolled

Golden curls skim what lies beneath her

Ripples of deep blue tremble as she moves

Daisies lay curled in slumber

Reeds kiss her limbs as she passes

Slender giants bow to her form

Their branches extended, a silent invitation

Whispers on the air, secrets told

Her cheeks glow with their words

She embraces the night that holds her

Alone in her journey, dictated by nature

Drawing her slowly to the conclusion she seeks

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Paul McGovern
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 13:51:20

    I started reading this while smoking a cigarette, I ended up reading it three or four times before taking another drag, it just completely drew me in. It’s perfect contemplation, nature infused with acceptance and wonder. The entire thing is dreamy, I see you mentioned that, you wouldn’t need to though, this takes my mind and catapults it into the ethereal realm. A world is conjured up in vivid detail that just washes over every inch of me. It speaks to both my mind and my soul.

    “Toes dip the water

    Fingers trace the light on the water

    Cast by the moon and its company above”

    wow… I see this so clearly when I read it, the colours and tactile stimulus are enchanting… goosebumps. The last line in this section, the moon and it’s company above, I’ll never see a night sky the same after that, an excellent representation.

    “Reeds kiss her limbs as she passes

    Slender giants bow to her form

    Their branches extended, a silent invitation

    Whispers on the air, secrets told

    Her cheeks glow with their words”

    Your writing is so majestic, this is fairytale, a wonderful, magical, emotional, inspiring fairytale. Again the dream like nature is so evident but the language, my goodness it does things to me. “Slender giants bow to her form, Their branches extended, a silent invitation” I want to take that line, print it out and stick it on the wall at my desk. I walk woodlands embracing the invitation of oaks and this just transposes me to that instantly. The words flow, the infinitude of the universe, clearly has origin in what you hold.

    It’s mesmerising to read, your way with words clenches fast.

    “She embraces the night that holds her

    Alone in her journey, dictated by nature

    Drawing her slowly to the conclusion she seeks”

    The night does cradle doesn’t it… I think that often, a framework for the mind’s expanse. An acceptance of nature, a progression on the journey of life.

    Second cigarette :p – as with everything you take from you and place in bytes for others, I adore this. I spoke before about the infinity you hold, I see that more every day. An old story book I have about Samurai has a phrase “Shijin no mottomo kyōryokuna” Poet most powerful — yeah I think that will do as a conclusion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

