Yet I Miss

 

I miss, I pine for, I yearn

Yet this state is not one with absence

For it was never known, it was never here

You were never here

Yet I miss…

 

Your hand hasn’t graced the small of my back

Fingers haven’t circled, traced

My skin has never been engaged by the firmness of your thumb

Pressed to my wrist, my palm, my hip

Yet I miss…

 

You haven’t sat here with me, felt the balmy air

Your eyes haven’t settled on the landscape

Explored the earthy hue beneath its blanket of deep azure

Your hand hasn’t melded with mine as I rock gently on this swing

Yet I miss…

 

You haven’t gazed with me on this deep night

Watched the lights, so bright against the coal black sky

Listened to the crickets, stirring in the grass

Sat in the stillness, savouring the intent of lazy nothings

Yet I miss…

 

You haven’t lain with me on these crisp, fragrant sheets

 Been soothed by the gentle murmur of the fan

Felt its coolness over skin warm and listless from the heat

Pushed fingers through curls, offering me a silent lullaby

 Yet I yearn, I pine for, I miss…

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paul McGovern
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 16:18:03

    Sigh… the wonder and grace which you exhibit in what you write just does things to me that I can’t properly describe. I’ve just read this and something has come over me, something in my chest, an ache? I’m not quite sure, but I love it – it’s a very good thing. I think it’s what happens when you are moved by writing, when you take more from reading something than what the words convey.

    This is a sensational poem, an exploration of longing told with exquisite beauty, skill, and sublime imagery. An uncertainty throughout, a need not fully realised perhaps. The tactile sense is just…. wow:

    “Your hand hasn’t graced the small of my back

    Fingers haven’t circled, traced

    My skin has never been engaged by the firmness of your thumb

    Pressed to my wrist, my palm, my hip

    Yet I miss…”

    You described this as something just milling around in your head, yet I spent hours today reading Plath poems that don’t even come close to this. These lines actually made me stop writing my response, I asked Ems to hold my wrist and hand (it’s cool Ems is use to my quirkiness :p) you have immense power with words.

    The imagery is stunning throughout, the swing line is romantic and gorgeous in every conceivable way. I adore it. Every one of my senses is engaged as I read, I smell the air, I hear the crickets, I visualise perfect black pierced with lights. Such a cornucopia of sensual stimulation, it speaks to me like few things do…

    “Sat in the stillness, savouring the intent of lazy nothings”

    This is perfect, an aimless passing of time content in the company of what you seek. I adore this, amazing.

    “You haven’t lain with me on these crisp, fragrant sheets

    Been soothed by the gentle murmur of the fan

    Felt its coolness over skin warm and listless from the heat

    Pushed fingers through curls, offering me a silent lullaby

    Yet I yearn, I pine for, I miss…”

    The closing verse is super league, tour de force, it will touch the hearts and souls of all who read it. It made me tingle all over, I keep reading the lines over and over. It’s so calming and comforting. The repetition of the “Yet I Miss” is also powerful, a constant reminder to the reader as they may well get lost in the sensuality of the lines in between.

    I absolutely love this poem, it is magnificent in every way. It is a shining example of why I like poetry and words in general. You have an amazing ability, a true talent, you move people with what you write and provide for them stimulus of mind and soul. The structure, the purity, the love, the knowledge, the command you have over language is inspiring.

    Like everything you write, perfect.

    Thank you so much for sharing.

    Reply

  2. andthedawn
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 11:23:15

    I just read this again, five times over before reviewing and yet I’m not sure I can. I’m not sure I have any words that are adequate or worthy to describe my awe, love and devotion to these stunning words. So visceral. Such aching emotion and beautiful imagery. I cannot emote half as well as our dearest Paul can but I felt every word of his review as pure truth and I recognised his feelings in me as I read and re-read. You continue to astound me with your writing, as you have done from the very first. Before we met I fell in love with your writing and I forever will be. xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

