This Girl

This girl…she surveys her ivory tower, walls inked with thoughts, a fabric of words beneath her unclothed feet. A place only she knows.

Her mind a mass of contradictions, conflict that offers challenge. Unrelenting in demands for attention paid.

This girl…she is at peace with all that is lunar and the worshipful lights that grace opaque night; yet touched by the golden haze, the constant indigo of day.

She dances under her sky with abandon, and the soil kisses her skin. A cool softness, life in her steps.

This girl…she never was his, but her own. Her wings clipped, but still they fight. One day they will open, one day she will soar.

She may hide behind her flaxen shield, awkward in her pose. Yet there is freedom felt in transitory moments.

This girl… she is late to bloom, late to feel the beauty that surrounds her. Though she sees it now, her place of comfort offered in her upward gaze.

A distorted mirror still remains, memories of a screwed up cosset love. She sits well with her thoughts though; they remind her she feels.

This girl…she wears a mulberry hue, it fades to violet. Her skin mirroring her soul’s bruising. She observes the process from a distant place, waiting on release.

She will dare to dream, to imagine her full potential. Conceptualising the possibility of it one day being shared.

This girl… she refutes definition, labels that dare to quash her being. For she is unique. She knows this if nothing else.

No longer a silent conformist. She dares to wade, discarding the shallow dip of her toes.

This girl…she is never truly known, but now, she is seen. Her trueness, her innate being, discovered by some who choose to look.

She rests against the bow of her willow. Swathed in the prelude to the breaking of the storm.

She waits. She waits…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peachy Diddles
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 21:01:12

    Wow! That is all. x

    Reply

  2. Emma McCaffery
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 17:50:46

    Paul introduced me to your very special writing several days ago now & while I am something of a technophobe I have found myself coming on to your blog to read what you write. We frequently talk about your poems, I love the female perspective that you bring. I have been reading what Paul writes for years and to finally find a female poet that touches me is rather special.

    I have read everything on here several times, I even printed The Constant for my own Mummy such was the grace it contains. All of what you write is fantastic, I simply chose this poem as a place to comment as it was one Paul first showed me. It is breathtaking, I found myself mumbling it to myself for days afterwards.

    You are supremely unique in your approach to everything and a beautiful writer.

    Reply

    • feltsensejunkie
      Jul 02, 2011 @ 18:12:21

      Thank you so very much for taking the time to drop me your thoughts here. It means a great deal. I hold such high regard for Paul, and he is so supportive and encouraging that it is just truly quite wonderful to hear from such a close friend of his. The biggest compliment I think I could ever receive is to hear that something in my writing touches a person, that they feel stirred by it.

      ‘The Constant’ is a personal tribute to my Ma, and to hear from people who enjoyed it and felt the words is just really quite amazing and humbling. ‘This Girl’ is soul poured onto the page. I’m beyond delighted that you find something in what I write that speaks to you.

      Again, thank you so very much for this. I can’t begin to express how much it makes me smile when someone takes the time to let me know how they feel about my writing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

