Nocturnal Freedom

Limbs heavy with the weight of slumber

I lay there, enveloped in the sable night

Eyes reluctant to engage with the darkness

 

Rain taps gently outside, a quiet plea to enter

A cool zephyr washes over me, my body stirs

My hand reaches to find cool cotton

Sheets leave my skin, tracing the lightest path

 

And then I hear it, the softest murmur

Your lips encase me as you speak

No truer words spoken than that which you moan

 

This stillness, this balm, encapsulates what is us

Our eyes still closed, laced with sleep

Yet I see you clearly, and you see me

Not with sight, but with all that connects us

 

A brightness, we create in our slow, steady rhythm

No freer can I be than in this moment here

Yet all that I am, given to you, a blissful juxtaposition

Sighs released, and my soul echoes deeply

 

I melt into you, with you, effortlessly as we move

Fingertips find broadness as teeth glide over skin

You anchor me softly, your lips never cease

Decorating me with whispers, pushing me forth

This heady quiet, the stillness, binds us closely

 

All thoughts dissipate, I hear and feel only you

The rain, a distant sound, eclipsed by your words

I let myself go, tumble to the edge and over

This nocturnal freedom, this gift that it bears

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paul McGovern
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 21:47:04

    I was hoping I would see this before I went to sleep. I’m so glad that I waited.

    It’s hauntingly sensual, ripe with tangible sensation and exquisite in it’s execution. I love the prelude, it’s erotic – the rain tapping – I can hear it as I read. Brilliantly written – it’s hard to capture rain in words – you do so perfectly.

    I love the use of sound throughout – the moans, the connection – the intertwining of two people. It sends shudders through every inch of me. “Sighs released, and my soul echoes deeply” – I love this line – the echoing of the soul, the true expression of emotion in my opinion and you capture it with craft, skill, love and care. It’s super league…

    “You anchor me softly, your lips never cease

    Decorating me with whispers, pushing me forth

    This heady quiet, the stillness, binds us closely”

    God I love the word anchor, in this context — it does things to me. The imagery is just beautiful, sensual, smooth, perfect, joined, fitted – decorating me with whispers – this is just off the hook – I love that line, it just paints the perfect picture. Your way with words is inspirational and wonderful to experience.

    My favourite part, the climax – the drawing together of elements:

    “All thoughts dissipate, I hear and feel only you

    The rain, a distant sound, eclipsed by your words

    I let myself go, tumble to the edge and over

    This nocturnal freedom, this gift that it bears”

    Duality – sound on sound, the absence of sound hearing only him – contrasts the distant rain – eclipsed by words – your ability to write I already knew for some time, but your ability to convey sheer sensuality, emotive experience and tactile response with words I am still discovering. This is crazy good – the best lines I’ve read all week…

    Then the final two…

    I love the edge concept, I’ve written some things about it – I love the letting go into it. But the last line — moves me so much. Nights are different aren’t they – I know that sounds dumb but there is a sense of freedom, convention changes, a different world breathes, the nocturnal awaken… a gift bestowed to those that don’t sleep.

    I love this poem, I think that should be clear. I love all that you write, that too should be known. But it would be easy to establish a plateau, a range – an expectation of what is to come. Never with you, each and every time you publish my heart kabooms, my brain erupts and my experience is forever made better through words. You continue to blow my mind with what you write. I pay money for books that I enjoy less than this darlin – your words speak to me like an author I created in my mind to write.

    I think I’m a full blown feltsensejunkie now – I’m gonna need regular fixes – addiction by choice. Forever enslaved. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Reply

  2. Dan
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 14:42:06

    Lovely girl, I know that I’m going to be unbelievably lacking in my reply to these glorious words of yours, but they have hit me so completely that I feel I must try.
    The way you write sensuality just staggers me. The words follow the action in a movement of indulgence, creating a visual that is all at once honest and real and as plump and ripe as a summer cherry.

    ‘I lay there, enveloped in the sable night’

    These words are absolute, tangible in the extreme and entirely threw my mind to the forefront of the scene in a second.

    Wow.

    What followed was just a sublime trip as you stepped between the telling of voices, sounds and touch, fueled by a beauteous torture that this particular girl won’t soon forget.

    As always, it’s an absolute privilege. Thank you so very much for sharing your words.X

    Reply

  3. Peachy Diddles
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 07:10:52

    You know how much I love this, almost as much as I love you. I don’t have words for your talent. When I grow up I want to be just like you. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

