The Quintessential Sign

 

Stretched beyond recognition

Bent out of shape, coarse and frayed

This path is dark, nothing has changed

Shards of hate cut at my soul

Driven to find feeling

I let them tear and scratch

Numbness overrides pain

Will you follow me here?

Down the winding road of my mind

The sky is black, heavy overhead

Can you feel it?

The densely heavy shade of nothingness

Shadows close in, their silent footsteps two steps behind

Always there, but I won’t look back

Lethargy floods the senses

How much further must I go?

Searching for the quintessential sign

The one that will evoke immediate recognition

It’s there; somewhere

Ahead of the fog that licks at my steps and blurs my vision

Will you take my hand?

Trees beckon shelter, a welcome place to hide

Come with me and we’ll rest a while

Protected by the weeping branches

And when we’re restored, I promise

We’ll move on.

 

(written December 2010)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paul McGovern
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 21:30:17

    Wow – talk about super league… This is just amazing, inherently sad but amazing, Filled with emotion and vivid powerful imagery which I can relate to in many ways. I love the repetition of questions – reinforcing the underlying feeling of doubt throughout the poem.

    It is a wonderful poem, very well written. Numbness overrides pain – this speaks to me like you wouldn’t believe.

    To the question Will I take your hand? I think you know the answer.

    Reply

  2. PeachyDiddles
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 21:39:40

    Simply stunning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

