The Constant – (Written for my Mama)

A steady hand always extended

A smile to warm the depths of my soul

A soft spoken word to soothe and comfort

A never ending belief, in all that I am

A deep rooted knowledge in what has passed

An unbreakable bond that will never chafe

A tender embrace when words fail me

A promise that I know will always be true

A blanket of softness, to protect and nurture

An unconditional love that knows no end

A light not to lead, but to allow me to find

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paul McGovern
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 11:04:03

    Mums really are special people, I think the world of mine. All that is good in me originated in Mum. Clearly you feel the same about your own Mummy. This verse is beautiful, in the truest sense of the word, it actually makes me think twice about referring to other things as such. Each line is filled with love and admiration, a bond forged between the two of you. It is tender, compassionate, expertly crafted and indicative of the love that is in you. A light not to lead but to allow me to find – Yeats would be proud of that, hell any poet in the world would be proud of that. Great Mums are just that I think, they illuminate the possibilities, provide the opportunities and then leave it to us to stumble through :p If we fall they help us up, if we do well they give us praise. The next time you see your Mum please thank her from me, genuinely and sincerely for bringing you into the world and allowing you to form into the wonderful human being you have become. Hold your high up darlin girl – the majesty of this is unparalleled by poets throughout the world already recognised for their brilliance.

    Reply

    • feltsensejunkie
      Jun 08, 2011 @ 16:56:44

      I’ve been trying to think of how to reply to this and the words just don’t come out right! Yes, I believe all that is good in me came from my ma and the way she nurtured me. We’ve been through so much together and she’s always loved me unconditionally – I feel very blessed to have had her by my side over the years. As for the rest of what you said…you floored me…again…thud 😉 Thank you so, your support, feedback and friendship are invaluable. You have the power to move people with your words and I feel truly honoured to receive such wonderful responses from you on things I have written.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

