I Would Invite You In…

I would invite you in, if it wasn’t so dark

I would offer you my hand, if the trembling would cease

Whispers of forgotten times, when light bathed the darkest corners

I hear them still, twisted and empty in their recollections

Scars litter my soul and skin speaks of memories true

The journey leaves me weary, mind and body tired from the climb

 

So yes, I would invite you in, if it wasn’t so dark

And my hand would meld with yours, if it weren’t for the numbness overwhelming

But the brick and mortar is thick, and it casts the deepest shadow

And so I sit here, safe in the comfort of this shelter

 

I still see you, feel you through the blackness, and smile to myself

How long will you wait?

An unanswered question left there on the floor

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paul McGovern
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 20:02:11

    This is beautiful. So tender, fragile and soft – wonderful in every line. It echos some sorry, maybe a little pain – but ultimately there is wonder and hope.

    One of the best things I have read in a long time. Exquisite – well crafted:

    “So yes, I would invite you in, if it wasn’t so dark. And my hand would meld with yours, if it weren’t for the numbness overwhelming”

    This gives me goosebumps…

    Your ability shines through – it’s no surprise to me.

    Reply

  2. feltsensejunkie
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 20:09:51

    Thank you. Feedback from someone who is so gifted with words means a lot 🙂

    Reply

  3. PeachyDiddles
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 20:11:52

    Truely beautiful, soulful and thought provoking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

