The Weeping Willow Tree

The ground is baron

Soil and grit cake my skin

I see you in the distance

A welcome retreat

I sink into the ground

Steps sluggish and tired

Weariness overwhelming

You beckon to me

Soft sways in the breeze

Clouds race and the black descends

Closer, closer, my heart slows

Is this where I should be?

Collapse against solidity

Sheltered from the elements

The storm begins

I sit and witness the unfolding

Safe for now

Your branches envelope

I may stop here a while

Let my thoughts evaporate

For this is where I should be

Hidden and protected

By the weeping willow tree

 

(Written on the 26th February 2011)

Leave a Reply

